Caledon Public Library

Angus Mowat Award 2016

For Immediate Release

February 3, 2017


On Thursday, February 2, 2017 at the Ontario Library Association’s annual conference in Toronto, Caledon Public Library received the 2016 Angus Mowat Award of Excellence. The Award was presented to CPL, CEO and Chief Librarian, Colleen Lipp by the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Eleanor McMahon, in front of an audience of librarians from all over Ontario.

The award was given in recognition of Caledon Public Library’s Click•Create•Celebrate initiative, an annual contest encouraging submissions of short story, poetry, short films and photography from all age groups. It culminates in an event celebrating the talent and creativity of all participants and the unveiling of a published compilation of all winning entries. 

“CPL recognizes the inherent value of building a culture of creativity and our Click•Create•Celebrateinitiative offers the tools to create and cultivate, rather than simply consume the works of others,” said Colleen Lipp.   “Click•Create•Celebrate provides a forum to recognize and highlight the talent oflocal authors, writers, photographers and filmmakers in our own community.”

Caledon Public Library would also like to acknowledge the financial support of Friends of Caledon Public Library who make this initiative possible.

To view our winning submission click here.