2021 YA to Get Excited About!

It’s a new year, and that means even more new books to add to your TBR pile! Here are a few of the YA titles coming out in January and February that I’m really excited about. All of the books in this post are currently on order at Caledon Public Library, so place a hold on them today to be one of the first people to get your hands on a copy!

Cover art of Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
Published January 12th 2021

This prequel to the bestselling book, The Hate U Give, delves into the life of Starr’s father, Maverick Carter, as a 17-year-old. After finding out that he is a father, Maverick struggles to leave the gang life behind and lead a straight life. In doing so, Mav learns what it really means to be a man.

 

 

 

Cover art of you Have a Match by Emma LordYou Have a Match by Emma Lord 
Published January 12th 2021

The latest from the author of Tweet Cute involves family secrets and swoony romance. When Abby decides to have a DNA test done to help support an adopted friend who is curious about his roots, she shockingly discovers that she has a full-blooded sibling who also happens to be famous on Instagram. A cute, feel-good, coming of age story!

 

 

Cover art for The Project by Courtney SummersThe Project by Courtney Summers
Publishes February 2nd 2021

A new, gripping, psychological thriller from the author of Sadie! When Lo Denham’s parents die in a car crash, her older sister Bea finds comfort and salvation in the Unity Project, a religious group that performs acts of service and community outreach. Years later, rumours begin to swirl about the Unity Project being a cult. Lo, who now works for an investigative magazine, decides to find her sister and uncover the truth.

 

 

 

Cover art for Fat Chance, Charlie VegaFat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado
Publishes February 2nd 2021

Sixteen-year-old Charlie is working hard to have a good relationship with her body, but it’s hard when her mom is pressuring her to lose weight and the world thinks she should be thinner and whiter. A coming of age story perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s book Dumplin‘.

 

 

 

Cover art for The Gilded OnesThe Gilded Ones by Namina Forna 
Releases February 9th 2021

In Deka’s village, the colour of the blood running through your veins determines your future. When it is discovered that Deka’s blood is gold, she is cast out as a demon, starting her on a journey that she never expected. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, this YA fantasy was inspired by myths from the author’s childhood in West Africa.

 

 

 

Cover art for The Electric KingdomThe Electric Kingdom by David Arnold
Releases February 9th 2021

A deadly flu-like pandemic sweeps across the globe leaving very few survivors. Among those still alive are Nico and her dog, who are on a voyage designed by her father to find a mythical portal; a young artist named Kit; and the mysterious Deliverer, who lives Life after Life in an attempt to save the world. This timely tale will appeal to readers who enjoy post-apocalyptical stories.